One thought on “임윤찬(Lim Yunchan)

  1. shinichi Post author

    Yunchan Lim 임윤찬
    RACHMANINOV Piano Concerto No. 3 in D Minor, op. 30

    June 17, 2022
    Bass Performance Hall
    Fort Worth, Texas USA

    YUNCHAN LIM, 2022 Cliburn Gold Medalist
    South Korea I Age 18
    Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra
    Marin Alsop, conductor

    RACHMANINOV Piano Concerto No. 3 in D Minor, op. 30

    In June 2022, Yunchan Lim became the youngest person ever to win gold at the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition; his performances throughout showcased a “magical ability” and a “natural, instinctive quality” (La Scena) that astounded listeners around the world. The depth of his artistry and connection to listeners also secured him the Audience Award and Best Performance of a New Work (for Sir Stephen Hough’s Fanfare Toccata).

    Just 18 years old, Yunchan’s ascent to international stardom has been meteoric. His final Cliburn Competition appearance with Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 3 delivered the defining moment of the three-week event; as one critic noted: “The applause that followed was endless: a star had emerged before our eyes” (Seen and Heard International). The video of that performance trended globally on YouTube in the days after, reaching #25, and has now become the most-watched version of that piece on the platform, amassing more than 5.5 million views in just one month.

    Yunchan has performed across his native South Korea—including with the Korean Orchestra Festival, Korea Symphony, Suwon Philharmonic, and Busan Philharmonic Orchestras, among others—as well as in Madrid, at the invitation of the Korea Cultural Center in Spain. His 2022–2023 inaugural tour as Cliburn winner takes him across four continents, with highlights including the Aspen Music Festival, La Jolla Music Society, and Performing Arts Houston in the United States; Seoul Arts Center, National Concert Hall in Taipei, and the KBS and Korean National Symphony Orchestras in Asia; and recital tours in Europe and South America.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *